Events

Past Event

Activism, the Arts, and LGBTQ+ Rights in the Middle East and North Africa Region

June 23, 2021
10:00 AM - 11:30 AM

Wednesday, June 23
10:00 AM New York – 3:00 PM Tunis – 4:00 PM Paris – 7:30 PM Mumbai

In commemoration of the tragic death of LGBTQ+ activist, Sarah Hegazi, this webinar brings together activists to speak about the role of arts and culture as a medium for activism and advocacy.

Participants will discuss the role and impact of LGBTQ resistance, solidarity, and visibility in challenging current institutional politics and in the dominant culture. They will explore the commonalities and differences of the tools they use, the limits to their advocacy efforts, as well as the tensions and confrontations they are subjected to in response to the practices they employ.


Speakers:

Dalia Al Faghal, queer activist

Hamdi Khalifa, human rights and LGBTQ+ activist

Rasha Younes, researcher with the LGBT Rights Program, Human Rights Watch

Tarek Zeidan, Executive Director, Helem

Moderated by Kendall Thomas, Nash Professor of Law, Columbia Law School