Events

Past Event

Black Lives Matter: From Minneapolis to Paris to Rio de Janeiro

June 29, 2020
12:00 PM - 1:00 PM
New York (Online Webinar)

Click here to register

With the recent deaths of George Floyd, Breonna Taylor, Ahmaud Arbery, Rayshard Brooks, and countless others, America reached a tipping point. Again. This time, the impact is global. With the rapid spread of racial justice protests across the world, our panelists will discuss the history of civil rights, slavery, white supremacy, and the global trajectory and intersectionality of the Black Lives Matter movement.


Time:

12:00 pm (NYC)
6:00 pm (Paris)
7:00 pm (Amman)
9:30 pm (Mumbai)


Panelists:

Jelani Cobb
Ira A. Lipman Professor of Journalism, Columbia University, Staff Writer for the New Yorker

Farah Griffin
Chair, Department of African American and African Diaspora Studies, Columbia University
 
in conversation with

Professor Safwan M. Masri 
EVP for Global Centers and Global Development, Columbia University


Discussion:

What is the worldwide significance of the Black Lives Matter movement?

How do the recent protests in America fit within the historical context of slavery and white supremacy and into the overall arc of civil rights movement in the United States?

What does the media get right? And what has the media missed?

 

 

What we are reading/watching: