Events

Past Event

Pandemic and Re-Shaping The Urban Landscape: Hyper Localization and 15 Minute Cities

December 16, 2020
6:00 PM - 7:30 PM
Online

11:00 am New York, 1:00 pm Rio de Janeiro, 6:00 pm Amman, 7:00 pm Istanbul

Public health measures to mitigate community transmission of COVID-19 have generated a new impetus for re-thinking our urban landscape. These measures overhauled cities' mobility cultures, limiting human movement to a distance of 15 minutes from one's home. The creation of a ‘city of villages’ is gaining momentum around the world, shaping future designs of cityscapes in a post-pandemic world. This webinar addresses how the pandemic reintroduces Carlos Moreno’s notion of “la ville du quart d’heure” in which daily urban necessities are within a 15-minute reach on foot or by bike. It brings together experts to discuss how the urban environment is being repurposed as well as the subsequent impact on community, creativity and city life. Panelists will also investigate commuters’ reaction to emergencies and pandemics by exposing changes in people’s behaviour when living in 15 minutes’ cities. 

Introduction by: Merve İspahani, Academic Programs Coordinator, Columbia Global Centers | Istanbul

Moderated by: Müge Yorgancı, Istanbul Planning Agency

Speakers:

Hayrettin Günç, NACTO, Global Designing Cities Iniative, Program Manager

Hazem Zureiqat, Partner at Engicon, Transport Consultant and Advocate, Jordan

Juan Francisco Saldarriaga Chaux, Senior Data & Design Researcher, Brown Institute, Columbia University

Lorenzo Kihlgren Grandi, Lecturer in City Diplomacy at Sciences Po and École Polytechnique, Paris