Events

Past Event

Pride without Prejudice: The Moral Arc of LGBTQ+ Law & Justice

June 30, 2020
11:00 AM - 12:00 PM
New York (Online Webinar)

Recent landmark Supreme Court ruling extends anti-discrimination workplace protection of the 1964 Civil Rights Act to the LGBTQ+ community.

Join our esteemed panelists as they discuss the ruling’s global impact, how it fits within the overall arc of social change movements concerned with LGBTQ+ issues, the role of civil society and social change movements that don't depend on legalism, and trans and queer protests, in the United States and around the world.

Time:

Tuesday, June 30 
11:00 am NYC
5:00 pm Paris
6:00 pm Amman
8:30 pm Mumbai


Panelists:

Kendall Thomas
Nash Professor of Law, Columbia Law School

Jack Halberstam
Director of the Institute for Research on Women, Gender and Sexuality; Professor of English and Comparative Literature

Suzanne Goldberg
Herbert and Doris Wechsler Clinical Professor of Law, Executive Vice President for University Life

in conversation with

Professor Safwan M. Masri 
EVP for Global Centers and Global Development, Columbia University