Events

Past Event

Stigma and Discrimination in the midst of a pandemic. What’s happening in informal settlements?

June 15, 2020
5:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Online Event

 During this pandemic we have seen countless examples of how stigma, bias, and discrimination are exacerbating existing inequalities and causing additional harm to individuals and communities around the world. Stigma and discrimination are also on the rise in informal settlements, and are likely to hinder efforts to prevent and manage the virus. The purpose of this panel is to bring together experts and community members to talk about their experiences with and perceptions of stigma and discrimination in informal settlements in the time of the COVID-19 pandemic and to hear their strategies and recommendations for addressing stigma and discrimination in these communities.

Join us for the third panel of a three-part panel series focused on key issues related to COVID-19 and informal settlements hosted by the Columbia Global Centers | Nairobi and Columbia Global Centers | Rio de Janeiro.

 

 

>>> This webinar will be held in Portuguese and Swahili with simultaneous translation to English!

Speakers:

1. Dr. Robinson Ocharo at the University of Nairobi
2. Christine Amollo, Peer Educator and Community Mobilizer
3. Dr. Rita Barret - Family Physician in Rio De Janeiro
4. Mariana Galdino - Educational Leader at Cidade de Deus (City of God)

Moderator: Amy Kapadia, Lecturer at Columbia School of Social Work

 

>>> This webinar will start at 10AM (New York Time) 11AM (Brazil Time) 5PM (Nairobi Time)

 

Please register below!