Past Event

When 'No' Means 'No': Promoting a Culture of Consent

February 12, 2019
5:30 PM - 7:30 PM

On February 12, Columbia Global Centers | Istanbul will host a video conference with Prof. Suzanne Goldberg, Executive Vice President, Office of University Life, Columbia University in collaboration with Boğaziçi University Sexual Assault Prevention Commission.

A leading expert in sexuality and gender law, Professor Goldberg will address Columbia University’s commitment to fostering an environment that is free from gender-based discrimination and harassment, including sexual assault and all other forms of gender-based misconduct. She will explain the multifaceted approach adopted by the University, which includes educational programs; services and resources for those affected by gender-based misconduct; accessible, prompt, and fair methods of investigation and resolution of reports of misconduct; and protections designed to prevent against recurrence. 

Please note that this event will be in English with no translation into Turkish.

Prof. Suzanne Goldberg, one of the country’s foremost experts on gender and sexuality law and a leading advocate for the LGBTQ community, serves as the Herbert and Doris Wechsler Clinical Professor of Law. She also leads the Law School’s Center for Gender and Sexuality Law and its Sexuality and Gender Law Clinic. In 2015, Goldberg was appointed to serve as Columbia University’s first executive vice president for university life. She is a frequent commentator and analyst for news media on sexuality and gender law, and on discrimination law and litigation issues. Her commentary has been featured on 20/20, CNN, and other national television networks, as well as on radio and news outlets around the world. Goldberg graduated with honors from Brown University, and went on to serve as a Fulbright Fellow at the National University of Singapore. She earned her J.D. at Harvard Law School and later clerked for Justice Marie Garibaldi of the New Jersey Supreme Court. Goldberg is a recipient of the Law School’s Willis L.M. Reese Prize for Excellence in Teaching.